Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi and Artsource announce residencies - Art Collector

Kirsten Coelho pieces. Courtesy: the artist and Helen Gory Galerie, Melbourne

18 September 2013 | The recipients of two artist residency programs have just been revealed.

Adelaide based ceramicist Kirsten Coelho has been awarded the Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi Travel Fund. Administered by Arts SA, the peak arts body for South Australian artists, this grant is sponsored by its namesake organisation to encourage cross cultural ties between South Australia and Japan.

Coelho works in porcelain and creates works that attempt to fuse the formal and the abstract. She will undertake a residency in Arita, a town in south west Japan (around an hour from Nagasaki) that has been producing porcelain for 400 years. Coelho will also investigate key museum collections in Tokyo, Kyoto and Naoshima.

Paul Caporn, Dump, 2012. EVA foam, 300 x 400 x 300cm. Courtesy: the artist, Sculpture by the Sea Cottesloe, Perth and Artsource, Perth

Artsource, Western Australia's peak visual arts body, has just announced two of its residency recipients for 2014.

Multidisciplinary artist Paul Caporn is awarded the Artsource Basel Exchange Residency. He will undertake the Basel residency in a studio apartment built for international artist residencies in the late 1980s by the Christoph Merian Foundation, which supports Artsource in awarding this residency. Caporn has stated he will further his research into plastics developed by companies like Bayer and Dupont, and will engage with the collections held by the European art museums. His six month residency will commence in July next year.

Emerging artist Tané Andrews was awarded the Artsource Artspace Residency. He will be part of the Artspace Studio Residency Program which is housed on level two of the historic Gunnery Building in Woollomooloo, Sydney Harbour. Andrews intends to use this time to develop a body of work relating to the flora of the Botanic Gardens in Sydney. His three month residency begins in October next year.

Alexandra Djurichkovic

Related stories:

Back to art news >

Share this page: