Bowness Prize receives record number of entries - Art Collector

Christian Thompson, Danger will come [We bury our own series], 2012. Chromogenic print, 102 x 102cm. Courtesy: the artist and Gallery Gabrielle Pizzi, Melbourne

21 August 2012 | Judges have sifted through a record 2,500 entries to select 42 finalists for this year’s William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize, among them emerging artists like Joseph McGlennon, Justine Varga and Izabela Pluta as well as more established photographers like Polixeni Papapetrou, Claudia Terstappen, William Yang and Darren Sylvester.

Run by the Monash Gallery of Art in Victoria, the annual prize is worth $25,000. Gallery director Shaune Lakin said they had selected more finalists than usual because of the high number of entries.

The finalists are:
  • Robert Ashton
  • Daniel Boetker-Smith
  • Kirsten Bowers
  • Jane Brown
  • Chris Budgeon
  • Elaine Campaner
  • Rowan Conroy
  • Jagath Dheerasekara
  • Stephen Dupont
  • Cherine Fahd
  • Jacqueline Felstead
  • Siri Hayes
  • Christopher Holt
  • Tim Johnson
  • Francis Keogh
  • Bronek Kozka
  • Jesse Marlow
  • Joseph McGlennon
  • Georgia Metaxas
  • Michael Miller
  • Phuong Ngo
  • Simon Obarzanek
  • Gerard O’Connor & Marc Wasiak
  • Polixeni Papapetrou
  • Izabela Pluta
  • Clare Rae
  • Hannah Raisin
  • Lynne Roberts-Goodwin
  • Tobias Rowles
  • Julie Rrap
  • Rodney Schaffer
  • Lani Seligman
  • Martin Smith
  • Valerie Sparks
  • David Stephenson
  • Darren Sylvester
  • Claudia Terstappen
  • Christian Thompson
  • Stephanie Valentin
  • Justine Varga
  • Daniel Von Sturmer
  • William Yang

The winner announced on 4 October 2012, will be selected by a judging panel including Lakin, Penelope Seidler, photographer Trent Parke and National Gallery of Victoria photography curator Isobel Crombie.

Jane O'Sullivan

Related stories:

Back to art news >

Share this page: