Finalists announced for inaugural Substation prize - Art Collector

Simon Obarzanek, Untitled, movement no. 2, 2010. Type C. Courtesy: the artist

22 August 2011 | Liam Benson, Tully Moore, Bronek Kozka and Simon Obarzanek are among the finalists in the inaugural Substation Contemporary Art Prize. Other finalists include Will Coles, Marcel Cousins, Ash Keating and Natalie Ryan.

The new prize is has been established to recognise challenging contemporary art. Works can be in any medium and on any topic.

The award exhibition opens on 3 September 2011 in Melbourne. It will be held in the multi-storey industrial Substation building. Visitors will be handed a map on entry and invited to explore the space.

The winner of the $5,000 main prize will be decided by National Gallery of Victoria curator Alex Baker and Bendigo Art Gallery director Karen Quinlan.

Jane O'Sullivan

Related stories:

Share this page:
Back to art news >