In brief: Artist Milestones 6 July 2010 - Art Collector

6 July 2010

  • Lyndal Hargrave, Locust Jones, Sherrie Knipe, Peta Kruger, Alice Lang and Shona Wilson are among the 40 artists shortlisted for the $12,000 Noosa Regional Gallery Travelling Scholarship. The scholarship is earmarked for interstate or overseas study and the prize also includes a solo exhibition with Noosa Regional Gallery. The winner will be announced 6 August 2010.
  • Nigel Hewitt, Merrick Belyea, Janis Nadela, Aaron Moore, Audrey Satar, Megan Evans and Claire Beausein have been named finalists in the 2010 Mandorla Art Award for contemporary religious art. This year the purse for the acquisitive first prize, the St John of God Health Care Prize, has been doubled to $20,000. The winner will be announced in Fremantle on 1 October 2010.
  • Janne Kearney has been named a finalist in the acquisitive $5,000 Corangamarah Art Prize.
  • J Muir Auld, Lawson Balfour and Charles Bryant are among the visual artists featured in a new book chronicling the artistic history of Dee Why on Sydney's northern beaches. Art and Music in Early Dee Why has been published by the author, Bob Pauling.

Jane O'Sullivan

Share this page: