In brief: Award winners in July - Art Collector

Tim Phillips, Glass Still Life III, 2013 (detail). Oil on board, 40 × 45cm. Courtesy: the artist and the Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney

24 July 2013 | Three major art prizes have been awarded across Australia in the past week.

In New South Wales, painter Tim Phillips has been awarded the Brett Whiteley Traveling Art Scholarship for 2013. Phillips is based in the ACT and completed a Bachelor of Visual Arts (Hons) at the Australian National University last year. Phillips has won $25,000 and a three-month residency at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris, which is administered by the Art Gallery of New South Wales (AGNSW).

Phillips’ still life paintings were chosen from the 77 entries to the prize by the judging panel: Euan MacLeod, artist; Michael Brand, director of AGNSW; and Wayne Tunnicliffe, head curator of Australian Art at AGNSW.

You can view Tim Phillips’ winning body of work at an exhibition of selected finalists at the Brett Whiteley Studio until 1 September 2013.

Anthony Johnson, Stutter, 2012. Galvanised steel shelving units, each 102 x 160 x 80cm. Courtesy: the artist and Hobart City Art Gallery

In Tasmania the 25th Jill Freeman City of Hobart Art prize has been announced. The winner, Anthony Johnson was selected from a record 490 entries by a judging panel comprising Max Delaney, senior curator of contemporary art at the National Gallery of Victoria; Brian Parkes, CEO of Jam Factory; and Jane Stewart, principal curator of art at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery.

Johnson has been awarded the $30,000 prize for his sculpture
Stutter, a galvanized steel shelving unit. He recently completed a Masters degree in Fine Art at the University of Tasmania and was a participant in Primavera 2007 at Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney.

The 25th Jill Freeman City of Hobart Art prize received entries in a wide variety of media including photography, painting, drawing, digital media and ceramics. An exhibition of 34 selected finalists is being held at the Argyle Galleries of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery until 1 September 2013.

In Western Australia the 2013 Cossack Art Award has been announced. Perth-based artist, Lesley Munro was declared the winner of the Best Overall Artwork prize at the official awards ceremony on Saturday. Munro accepted the $15,000 prize for her painting
The Way Back. The 2013 Cossack Art Award is presented by the Shire of Roeburne and principal partner Rio Tinto. The Cossack Art Award exhibition is on view at the Bond Store and Post and Telegraph Building in Cossack until 11 August 2013.

Hannah McKissock-Davis

Related stories:

Back to art news >

Share this page: