Indigenous Art Triennial back on the radar - Art Collector

Daniel Walbidi, Kirriwirri, 2010. Synthetic polymer paint on canvas. Courtesy: the artist and National Gallery of Australia, Canberra

14 November 2011 | The National Gallery of Australia has announced the 20 artists selected for the second National Indigenous Art Triennial which will be held in May next year.

The exhibition, which has been curated by Carly Lane, will run under the banner
UnDisclosed. Lane has selected:
  • Tony Albert
  • Vernon Ah Kee
  • Bob Burruwal
  • Michael Cook
  • Lorraine Connelly-Northey
  • Nici Cumpston
  • Fiona Foley
  • Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori
  • Gunybi Ganambarr
  • Julie Gough
  • Lindsay Harris
  • Jonathan Jones
  • Danie Mallor
  • Naata Nungurrayi
  • Maria Josette Orsto
  • Daniel Walbidi
  • Christian Bumbarra Thompson
  • Alick Tipoti
  • Lena Yarinkura
  • Nyapanyapa Yunupingu

The first triennial was held in 2007 and toured for over two years. The second triennial was, as the name would imply, scheduled for 2010 but was delayed twice. Speaking to The Australian earlier this year, director Ron Radford pointed to “fiscal responsibility” as the reason behind the most recent postponement.

The National Gallery of Australia announced the artists and dates for the second triennial in a press release about Wesfarmers increased support for the gallery, which now stands at $1.4 million over four years.

UnDisclosed, the second National Indigenous Art Triennial, will run from 11 May to 10 July 2012.

Jane O'Sullivan

Related stories:

Share this page:
Back to art news >