McClelland Sculpture Park + Gallery - Art Collector

Exterior of the McClelland Gallery + Sculpture Park. Courtesy: the gallery, photography Mark Ashkanasy

Set in 16 hectares of bush and landscaped gardens in Langwarrin, 4 kilometers east of Frankston on the Mornington Peninsula, McClelland Sculpture Park + Gallery attracts over 150,000 visitors each year. Established in 1971, the gallery presents an inspiring and engaging range of changing exhibitions and public programs.

McClelland’s three indoor exhibition spaces accommodate temporary exhibitions and collection displays of works on paper, photography, painting and sculpture. The establishment of the Elisabeth Murdoch Sculpture Fund was the catalyst for the development of a substantial sculpture collection and sculpture park at McClelland.

The collection

McClelland is renowned for its outdoor collection showcasing over 100 works by prominent Australian sculptors, including Rick Amor, Peter Corlett, Inge King, Clement Meadmore, Robert Owen, Lenton Parr, Anthony Pryor, Norma Redpath, Lisa Roet, Andrew Rogers and Ken Unsworth.

Exhibition highlights

McClelland is committed to the development of sculpture in Australia and is home to the biennial McClelland Sculpture Survey and Award for contemporary outdoor sculpture. Since its inception in 2003, the McClelland Sculpture Survey & Award has emerged as the most important biennial outdoor sculpture exhibition in Australia. The exhibition presents 35 works in an outdoor exhibition that highlight the diversity and invention of contemporary sculpture.

The 2014 McClelland Sculpture Survey and Award is showing from 23 November 2014 to July 2015 and is presented in partnership with the Elisabeth Murdoch Sculpture Fund and The Balnaves Foundation. The 2014 finalists are: Beth Arnold, Dean Bowen, Matt Calvert, Bozo Ink: Cameron Bishop, David Fitzsimmons and Simon Reis, Will Coles, Marcel Cousins, Troy Emery, Hendrik Forster, Betra Fraval, Wanda Gillespie, Matthew Harding, David Horton, Greg Johns, Tunni Kraus, Jonathan Leahey, Susan Lincoln, Lucas Maddock, Anton McMurray, Sanné Mestrom, Dorota Mytych, James Parrett, Sonia Payes, Simon Perry, Terrance Plowright, Louis Pratt, Phil Price, Lisa Roet & Charlie Owen, Andrew Rogers, Anne Ross, Faustas Sadauskas, Benjamin Storch, Marcus Tatton, Vince Vozzo, Crystal Wagner and Jason Waterhouse.

Art awards

As well as the biennale McClelland Sculpture Survey and Award, McClelland hosts the annual Mary and Lou Senini Student Art Award.


McClelland has an e-news subscription list as well as two levels of paid membership, each offering different benefits and discounts. For more information, click here.

Visitor information

Visitors to the sculpture park and gallery can enjoy the gallery cafe for morning tea, lunch or afternoon tea. Overlooking a beautiful lake, the cafe offers elegant seasonal menus and can be booked for private functions.

McClelland Sculpture Park + Gallery offers visitors the following facilities:

  • Gold coin donation admission
  • Licensed cafe
  • Gallery shop
  • Wheelchair accessible

McClelland Sculpture Park + Gallery
390 McClelland Drive
Langwarrin VIC 3910

Phone: 03 9789 1671
Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday from 10am to 5pm.
Cafe hours: Tuesday to Sunday from 10am to 4.30pm.