MCA unveils Primavera 2015 - Art Collector

Steaphan Paton, Cloaked Combat, 2013. Bark, carbon fibre, synthetic polymer resin, synthetic polymer paint, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Yvonne Pettengell Bequest, 2013, image courtesy the artist and Anna Pappas Gallery, Melbourne © the artist

By Emily Cones-Browne

Primavera 2015 will feature the work of seven artists drawn from the South West, South Central and South East Australia.

Opening to the public this September 22nd, artists in the 24th edition extract earth materials, work with sound, video and installation, and create assemblages reflecting strategies of survival and the revival of forms of cultural production.

Curated by Sydney-based Aboriginal artist Nicole Foreshew – the 2015 MCA Curatorial Fellow – this year’s exhibition will feature Abdul Abdullah, Heather Douglas, Taloi Hayini, Vincent & Vaughan O’Connor, Steaphan Paton and Lucy Simpson.

“The practices foregrounded in this exhibition, and the cultures and conditions of life, work and history that they emerge from, are situated within a broader experience of a resurgent Global South, within which peoples belonging to a diversity of cultures question received ideas of identity, culture and power,” says the Foreshew. “The importance of this extends to Aboriginal art-making in the ‘South’ or South Eastern region of Australia.

“There is a commonly held perception that cultural practices and activities have ceased, or have changed too much to have any value or visible relevance to broad audiences. Yet as the work of artists in this year’s Primavera demonstrates, Aboriginal art practices emerging from the wreckage of first contact and generations of colonial impacts are assuming an increasingly important role in the continuation of our nation’s cultural strength.”

Primavera is the MCA’s annual exhibition of young Australian artists aged 35 and under, and is known for showcasing the works of artists and curators in the early stages of their career. Previous artistic talent discovered at Primavera includes Shaun Gladwell, Marian Tubbs and Paul Yore.

Share this page: