Mikala Dwyer and Coen Young win 2015 Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize - Art Collector

Coen Young's winning work. Photo: Coen Young, image courtesy the artist and National Art School Gallery.

The winners of the 2015 Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize have been announced at the National Art School Gallery, with Coen Young awarded the emerging artist prize for his work Study for a mirror 1, Study for a mirror 2, and Mikala Dwyer awarded the established artist prize for her sculptural work Untitled (2014).

Dwyer, who was awarded $25,000 for the established artist prize, was described by judge Lisa Havilah, director of Carriageworks, as “one of Australia’s leading contemporary artists,” adding that her work “is a brilliant example of her empty sculptures; that at one moment look like it could drift away and at the next, holds all the gravity and weight of the world”.

Judith Blackall, National Art School Gallery curator and one of the judges for the $10,000 emerging artist award taken out by Young says: “The overall standard of the exhibition is exceptional. Coen is a young artist who is investigating new techniques from a painter’s perspective. In these works he is engaging with a larger scale and creating ambitious works that merge painting and photography into a new form, with an impressive powerful presence.”

Emerging artist award judge Fabian Byrne of Redlands School agrees, adding that “Young is a highly innovative emerging artist. His background in painting and increasing skill in photography exemplifies both originality and innovation.”

The prize has a unique model, where the 21 established contemporary visual artists from Australia and New Zealand that put forward a single work for the prize are in turn required to invite an emerging contemporary artist to present work in the prize. In this respect, the prize encourages mentoring relationships between different generations with the arts sector.

Redlands, who have a tradition of acquiring the winning art works in both categories for their permanent collection, have a solid collection of works from previous winners, including Ben Quilty, Immants Tillers, Julie Rrap, Sally Smart, Lindy Lee, Gordon Bennet, Callum Morton and Vernon Ah Kee.

Curated by artist Tim Johnson, a former winner of the prize, the exhibition will be presented at the National Art School from 26 March until 23 May 2015.

Emily Cones-Browne

Back to
art news >

Share this page: