New media award announces finalists - Art Collector

George Poonkhin Khut, Distillery: Waveforming, 2012. Still from video portraits of sitters interacting with heart rate controlled composition software for iPad. Photo: Julia Pendrill Charles. Courtesy: the artist.

19 June 2012 | Ross Manning, who appeared in Primavera in 2009, has been selected as one of the finalists in the biennial National New Media Art Award, run by the Queensland Art Gallery.

The prize, worth $75,000, will be announced on 2 August 2012.

The other finalists are Kirsty Boyle, Karen Casey, Robin Fox, Petra Gemeinboeck and Rob Saunders, Ian Haig, Leah Heiss and George Poonkhin Khut.

The finalists were selected by a judging panel including artist Daniel Crooks, Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts director Amy Barrett-Lennard and Queensland Art Gallery’s Suhanya Raffel.

The award commenced in 2008. Previous winners are Peter Alwast and collaborative duo Isobel Knowles and Van Sowerwine.

Jane O'Sullivan

Related stories:

Back to art news >

Share this page: