Paddington Art Prize - Art Collector

Belem Lett, Dorrigo, 2016. Oil on aluminium composite panel, 163 X 122cm. Courtesy: the artist and Gallery 9, Sydney.

The Paddington Art Prize 2016 has announced this year's finalists. The $25,000 national acquisitive prize accepts paintings inspired by the Australian landscape. In its 13th year, the judging panel is made up of artists Wendy Sharpe and Craig Waddell as well as head curator of The Art Gallery of NSW, Wayne Tunnicluff. Among the finalists is Belem Lett of Gallery 9, who told Art Collector that his entry entitled Dorrigo references the Dorrigo rainforest. “Growing up on the mid-north coast around Bellingen and Urunga, I remember frequently going up Dorrigo mountain with my family. We would go on walks through Dorrigo rainforest which was thick with strangler fig vines. The hanging looping string like vines winding there way through the forest have really stuck with me,” said the artist.

Other finalists include Adriane Strampp, Alan Jones, Amanda Penrose Hart, Amber Boardman, Anthony White, Binny Harris, Catherine Cassidy, Clifford How, Damien Slevin, Danelle Bergstrom, Deborah Hunter Mills, Elizabeth Nelson, Filippa Buttitta, Genevieve Felix Reynolds, Giles Alexander, Guy Innes, Helen Gauchat, Jacquelene Drinkall, James Drinkwater, James Powditch, Jason Cordero, Jasper Knight, Jo Bertini, John Bokor, John Murray, Karen Bloomfield, Kate Kurucz, Leah Thiessen, Leisl Mott, Mathew Lynn, Michaye Boulter, Min Woo Bang, Mitchell English, Mostyn Bramley-Moore, Oliver Watts, Paul Ryan, Peter Smets, Phil McKay, Robert Malherbe, Rodney Pople, Sally Anderson, Sally West, Scott Marr, Sokquon Tran, Stephen Pleban, Stuart Watters, Sue Meyer, Suey McEnnally, Susan J. White, Tianli Zu, Tom Carment, Tonee Messiah and What.
The winner will be announced on 20 October at 111-113 Queen St, Woollahra, Sydney, and the exhibition continues until 30 October 2016.

Emma O'Neill
Share this page: