Sculpture prizes wrap: Woollahra, By The Sea and Yering Station winners - Art Collector

Julia deVille, Sorrow, stillborn deer, glass, antique platter, 0.35 carat rubies and enamel paint, 56 x 35 x 15cm. Courtesy: the artist and Sophie Gannon Gallery, Melbourne

30 October 2013 | There have been several key sculpture prizes announced this week.

In Sydney, the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize has been won by Melbourne-based artist Julia deVille for her work
Sorrow, pictured above. She was awarded the $10,000 main prize and her work joins the Woollahra Council collection.

The judges for this year's prize were Nick Mitzevich, director of the Art Gallery of South Australia and Ian Howard from the College of Fine Arts in Sydney. They selected 43 finalists this year, including Stephen Bird, Troy Emery, Dani Marti, Kirsteen Pieterse, Caroline Rothwell and Peter Cooley. All of the finalists' works - excluding deVille's winning work - are available for purchase and will be on display at the Woollahra Council Chambers in Sydney until 10 November.

Stephen King, Fallout. Courtesy: the artist, Clyde Yee and Sculpture by the Sea, Sydney

Stephen King has won this year's Sculpture By The Sea Bondi main award for his work Fallout, pictured above, which is inspired by the fallout from the 2011 Fukushima nuclear disaster.

King has been exhibiting in Australia and internationally since 1979. Speaking at the award announcement last week, David Handley, founding director of Sculpture By The Sea, noted that King had been close to winning the main prize at the event several times. His work is held in the collections of Artbank, Parliament House in Canberra, and regional galleries across New South Wales.

This year's main prize was worth $60,000 and was sponsored by Macquarie Group. King's winning sculpture will go to an as-yet undisclosed location. The 2013 Sculpture by the Sea exhibition is on display until 10 November at the Bondi to Tamarama coastal walk in Sydney.

Louise Saxton, Let The Jungle In, 2013. Mixed media, 50 x 150cm. Courtesy: the artist and Gould Galleries, Melbourne

Louise Saxton has won the Yering Station Sculpture Award for her work Let The Jungle In, pictured above.

Saxton works in discarded needlework and is one of a few artists to have their debut solo exhibition at the Heide Museum of Modern Art. Her work is held in a number of national and international collections including the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra.

The Yering Station Sculpture Award is held at the Yering Station winery in the Yarra Valley region of Victoria. Works showcased in the exhibition are available for purchase and will be on display until 8 December 2013.

Alexandra Djurichkovic

Related stories:

Back to art news >

Share this page: