Sidney Myer Creative Fellows for 2013 announced - Art Collector

Kirsty Boyle, Oceans of air, 2011, presented during the Floating Land Festival, Queensland 2011. Courtesy: the artist

27 November 2013 | Artists Kirsty Boyle and Tom Nicholson are among the Sidney Myer Creative Fellows for 2013.

First awarded in 2011, the fellowship program provides $160,000 over two years to individual artists and creative practitioners, arts managers and thought leaders in the humanities. The fellowships are not tied to any specific outcome, allowing recipients the freedom to reflect and develop aspects of their creative practice.

Boyle explores robots as subjects of culture. Her interdisciplinary practice encompasses skills in sculpture, theatrical performance, film and animation, digital arts and design, mechanical and electrical engineering and artificial intelligence. It is based upon the understanding that the robot, as an artform that animates inanimate matter, has been deeply embedded in the history of science and art practice for many centuries.

Nicholson explores the possibilities of drawing, both as a medium and as a means to animate our relationship to history and historical images. His works are held in the collections of the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne; the Art Gallery of South Australia, Adelaide and the Art Gallery of Western Australia, Perth.

Tom Nicholson and Riccardo Vaglini, Radio Exarcheia, 2012. Courtesy: the artists

The full list of the 2013 fellows is Kate Ben-Tovim, thought leader and creative producer (VIC); Kirsty Boyle, visual arts (NSW); Emma Donovan, music and performance (VIC); Kate Fielding, thought leader, literature (WA); Stefan Gregory, theatre sound design (NSW); Stephanie Lake, dance (VIC); Melissa Madden Gray, music and theatre (VIC); Kate Miller Heidke, music and theatre (QLD); Tom Nicholson, visual arts (NSW); and Erkki Veltheim, composition (VIC).

To be nominated for a Sidney Myer Creative Fellowship, artists and thought leaders must be within seven to 15 years into their creative practice and must meet two criteria: outstanding talent and exceptional professional courage.

The judging panel for the 2013 fellows comprised Carillo Gantner, chair of the panel and art collector, alongside Sue Nattrass, Julianne Schultz, Iain Grandage, Jonathan Holloway, Gideon Obarzanek, Stephen Armstrong and Fiona Winning.

Alexandra Djurichkovic

Related stories:

Back to art news >

Share this page: