Tide brings in 24 finalists for Devonport award - Art Collector

2006 winner Neil Haddon, Survivor (Graft), 2005, detail, partially abraded high gloss household enamel paint on aluminium, 130 x 120cm. courtesy: the artist

5 October 2010 | Greer Honeywill, Megan Keating, Tim Silver, Jamie Boys and Christl Berg are among the 24 finalists in the running for the Tidal 10: City of Devonport Art Award.

The finalists have been selected by judges Jason Smith of the Heide Museum of Modern Art and Neil Haddon, an artist and also an associate lecturer at the Tasmanian School of Art who won the prize in 2006.

The award is open to contemporary Australian artists whose work addresses political, social or environmental issues related to the concept “tidal”.

This year, the prize has been increased from $10,000 to $15,000 and it has also become an acquisitive award. The winner will be announced on 3 December 2010 at Devonport Regional Gallery.

Jane O'Sullivan

Share this page: