Tim Fairfax takes interim chair of council at NGA - Art Collector

23 April 2012 | Philanthropist Tim Fairfax was appointed the interim chair of the National Gallery of Australia Council last Friday. Arts Minister Simon Crean made the announcement while also paying tribute to Rupert Myers who held the post as council chair for the past nine years.

Fairfax will take on the role until 31 December this year while Dr Ron Radford was reappointed the director of the NGA for the next two years.

The prizewinner was selected by the Art Gallery of NSW Trustees and the head curator of Australian art, Wayne Turncliffe.

"It has been a priority to acquire a painting by Michael Zavros, a leading contemporary artist for the Art Gallery of NSW. With The Bulgari Art Award the Gallery can now work with Michael Zavros to add an exceptional work to our collection,” said Turncliffe.

Zavros is a mid career painter who is a regular in the art awards circuit. He is a four-time Archibald Prize finalist and won the Doug Moran National Portrait Prize in 2010.

Amy Yang

Share this page: