Town Hall Gallery - Art Collector

Photograph of exhibition at Town Hall Gallery, Fixation: Our Obsession with Fashion Culture, 2014. Photo: Matthew Stanton. Courtesy: Town Hall Gallery

Town Hall Gallery was established in 2003, reopening in late 2013 in the newly redeveloped Hawthorn Arts Centre.

Studio visits perform an important part of the curatorial process, giving Town Hall Gallery a unique voice and identity that is more reflective of the community it is situated within.

The collection

The Town Hall Gallery Collection contains artworks by artists who have lived or worked within the City of Boroondara, with a particular focus on local landmarks and prominent people. Ian Armstrong, John Brack, Helen Maudsley and William Dargie are represented alongside contemporary artists such as Tony Lloyd, Matthew Sleeth, Andrew Mezei and Adam Stone.

Exhibition highlights

The gallery will be hosting the touring exhibition Direction Now from 21 October 2014 to 17 December 2014, bringing together a group of 10 artists for whom abstraction is their chosen visual language. Artists include Mostyn Bramley-Moore, Terri Brooks, Michael Cusack, Miles Hall, Anton Hart, Anthony Terrence O'Carroll, Claire Primrose, Amanda Jane Ryan, Peter Sharp, and Ann Thomson.

Town Hall Gallery will be hosting the
Tamworth Textile Triennial Group Exchange from 9 June 2015 to 26 July 2015.

A major retrospective of the work of Ronald Greenaway will be showing from 4 August 2015 to 13 September 2015, which features Greenaway alongside artworks from his contemporaries.


Patrons can join Town Hall Gallery’s membership program.
Individual: $35
Dual: $60
Artist/Student/Concession: $20
Family: $60
Institution: $60

Visitor information

Town Hall Gallery offers visitors the following facilities:
  • Cafe
  • Gallery shop
  • Parking
  • Wheelchair access
  • Free guided tours
  • Workshops and classes

Town Hall Gallery
Located at Hawthorn Arts Centre
360 Burwood Road
Hawthorn VIC 3122

Phone: 03 9278 4626

Opening hours: Tuesday to Friday from 10am to 5pm. Saturday and Sunday from 11am to 5pm. Closed Public Holidays.