Western Australian Indigenous Art Awards announces finalists - Art Collector

Gunybi Ganambarr, Milngurr, 2011. Ochre, earth pigment and acrylic binder on rubber, 77 x 97cm, winning work of the WA Indigenous Art Awards 2012. Courtesy: the artist and the Art Gallery of Western Australia, Perth

19 February 2013 | The finalists for the 2013 Western Australian Indigenous Art Awards have just been announced.

The prize was founded in 2008 and is the richest Indigenous arts prize in the nation. Three non-acquisitive awards totalling $65,000 are on offer, including the main $50,000 award.

The 16 finalists are from a diverse mix of culture and language groups. They are Churchill Cann, Julie Gough, Ray Ken, Beaver Lennon, Minyawe Miller, Abe Muriata, Wintjiya Mapaltjarri, Lawrence Omeenyo, Brian Robinson, Yhonnie Scarce, Dulcie Sharp, Christian Thompson, Conrad Tipungwuit, Wukun Wanambi, Ngipi Ward and Nora Wompi.

The selection panel consists of Hetti Perkins, former senior curator for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art at the Art Gallery of New South Wales; Clotide Bullen, curator of Indigenous art at the Art Gallery of Western Australia since 2005; and John Barrett-Lennard, who is currently writing a project funded by the Australia Research Council that investigates the impact of indigenous art since the 1970s.

The winner of the main and secondary prizes will be announced at the opening of the awards on 22 August 2013, to be held at the Art Gallery of Western Australia.

Alexandra Djurichkovic

Related stories:

Back to art news >

Share this page: